Mutabbal – Middle Eastern Eggplant and Tahini Dip

This is as pleasing to the eyes, as well as, I strongly suspect, being absolutely *delish*. Love that it does not have an animal’s flesh in it. Just beautiful. Cannot wait to try this recipe! Thank you to: for the love of yum !

for the love of yum

There’s a cafeteria-type restaurant that I frequent because it has the best mutabbal (similar to baba ghanoush) ever.  It’s a Toronto-based Middle Eastern chain and I love it.  My husband grew up in the Middle East and it reminds him of his childhood, eating fresh and puffy pita breads out of the oven with some juicy chicken shawarma right off the spit.  I have to agree the vibe in there transports you to the Middle East.  I have been to Dubai a few times and have a lot of friends from Dubai here in Toronto and the consensus is the same — it’s the Middle East in Toronto!

My sister-in-law came to see me for a day over the summer (she lives in a small town, with no Middle Eastern food), we had lunch at a nice restaurant and shopped for a bit.  After we were done shopping she asked…

View original post 521 more words

Leave a Reply

